Desperately need advice. Can someone please help?

I've been talking to this guy for 6 months and we got to hang out for the first time on July 14. A few days before we hung out he told me "I'm starting to think I love you" then when we hung out he kept hugging me, he held my hand, kissed my cheek, and even mentioned how he had been single for a year and asked me "Are you gonna change that?" I said "I hope so" and he smiled and said "I hope so too"
But I was really shy and quiet when we hung out and I think it came off as me not liking him :( He kept asking me "Are you ok?" And I said "Yeah. You don't think so?" And he looked down and said "No" And then every time he tried to stare into my eyes I would look away :(
I did that because I was kind of afraid of getting close to him because it would hurt if he were to decide he didn't like me, but ironically I think me acting that way actually caused what I was trying to prevent.
Then he texted me a few hours after we hung out saying "Hey" but I was asleep so texted him 2 hours later saying "Hey" but I got no response even though he was active on Facebook. I texted him the next morning basically apologizing for being so shy, and that I didn't want him thinking I didn't like him, because I really do like him. I never got a response. I texted him "Hey" 4 days later and, once again, no response, so I left it at that.