Am I in the friend zone?

There's this guy I like who I met a year ago. He is a senior; I'm a sophomore in college. Last year, I thought he maybe liked me (I think all of that was maybe in my head). Now that school has started up again, we have become a lot closer. We spend a lot of time with each other: eat at the school cafe together, work together, and sometimes take walks together or go over to each other's apartments (this happened about twice since we've come back to school) but most of all we talk A LOT (like for hours) and tease each A LOT. We share personal things with each other. I used to be the only one who texted him but he's started texting me first now, a week ago he tickled me and then joked that I liked his and another guy's butts. The other day he gave me a side hug (that may not sound like much but it actually is considering I've never seen him go in for a hug first with girls and he usually doesn't even hug them unless they go in first.) You would think that after all of the hours we spend talking to each other and everything else that these would be signs that he likes me... BUT he talks to me about other girls sometimes (a couple girls in particular). It hurts a lot, but when I notice him taking interest I've started to tease/ask him if he likes her. There's this one girl he has told me about a few times that he thinks is cute and flirty with him but we both know she's with another guy so he said it makes things complicated. To make things even harder: I have very good reason to believe that he asked a mutual friend (a different girl) out last semester and that he still has feelings for her (even tho they may have never gone out since he said he hasn't dated since he transferred here). He says things like "I haven't done "this" in a long time", "I haven't shared this with many people", "I feel like we're the same person". I feel special until he mentions another girl or talks to the girl I think he had feelings for in the past. This is incredib