What do guys really think of independent women?

I am a truck driver. I have worked in the oilfield for most of my life. I hardly ever get asked out. I get hit on by married men plenty (no thank you) and a few lesbians (no thank you). Yes I'm kind of tomboyish. I don't wear makeup or carry a purse or wear dresses. I'm very uncomfortable wearing makeup and dresses. I am not a lesbian. I wear steel toe boots and jeans. I am a real natural woman. I have dressed up and gone out before and not one single man ever paid any attention to me. Oddly enough I have gone into bars right after work all greasy and dirty and every guy in the bar bought me drinks but none asked me out. What do I do to remain true to myself and attract a good man?

Updates:
2mo Related topic: how do men feel about muscular women? I don't mean muscular like Arnie, I mean sculpted with nice breasts - obviously still a woman, just a strong one.

3|1
13|66

Most Helpful Guy

• If you're all greasy and dirty after work and go to the bar then you might be perceived as "one of the guys". That's why they are buying drinks but not asking you out. Join some coed teams in the area to meet guys, and don't be affraid to ask some out yourself.

5|2
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Oh honey do I understand lol. I'm in the military so obviously a male dominant field. I spend all day around men, acting like one, joking like on, etc. I keep my makeup as natural as possible (females get shit for not looking "professional" if we go natural) and wear old tshirts, worn jeans and boots on my off time. Spend more time in the gym than the mall, but not "bulky" looking either.