What exactly defines a date?

Exactly what makes a outing between 2 people a date vs just hanging out? Example would be person A asks person B to do or see something fun with them a few days in advance.

0|0
7|13

What Girls Said 7

• Does it really matter going in? What matters is whether there is mutual chemistry coming out. Hang out... enjoy their company as a person... and maybe something kicks off and maybe something doesn't. My boyfriend and I went to a concert together... completely and mutually platonically going in. And coming out... there was definite mutual interest... at which point we made a date 2 days later for Sunday. Que sera sera. What will be will be.

0|0
    0|0
  • I'm a student in Nigeria and currently there is a serious recession so for me a date would be hanging out with someone I have romantic intentions with and returns the interest. We could even be studying together... as long we're around each other it's a date.

No need for fancy stuff... I react to most foreign foods either way.

0|0
    0|0
  • This is also what I've been wondering. I mean, I usually think that if the intention is not to see whether we would be romantically compatible, then it's not a date. But then the guys I've actually been on dates with never call them "dates". Even if they later on made a move, meaning wanting for it to go somewhere. And I have met someone to hookup with, we went out for coffee and cake first, and he called that a date when for me it wasn't, because I had no romantic intentions with him. Only sexual. So I'm just as confused. Also, during hanging out, I have had a guy friend pay for me. And on what in my mind were dates, I have paid for myself. So the paying rule doesn't hold up either.

0|0
    0|0