Going through some financially tough times....how should I approach dating?

I'm 28 and I'm a small business owner. Lately I've encountered some real tough times with my business. I'm not exactly rolling in the big bucks right now. In fact I just have enough to get by.

I also recently got dumped from a 9 month of/off relationship (day I got dumped I lost a big client...nice huh?). I know I should go out and meet more girls. But lets face it, if you have a penis...dating costs money. I figured I was spending $200 to $300 a month when I go on 4 to 8 dates.

Whats worse is I'm worried about when women find that I'm in tough times right now they will get turned off. I even believe my ex sensed this and subconsciously used it as an excuse to get rid of me.

On first dates I'm usually pretty good an covering this up and acting confident. I never discuss money and what my situation is. However sooner or later a woman is going to figure me out.

I could put my head down and stay single and save money. Truth is I'm very lonely right now. Having a girlfriend would help boost my self esteem a bit.

Again I'm no idiot. I have a college degree and ran a business for four years. I'm also told I'm a decent looking guy

Updates:
Thanks for the feedback folks. This is going to force me to get creative which is a good thing. Also this is a "acid test" to see what a girl is really like.

0|0
4|2

Most Helpful Girl

• First, you might want to consider focusing on your business and getting things on track again before dating. It will give you genuine confidence and more money to spend on dates. You also mentioned that you just got out of a long relationship. Do you really want to make the next girl your rebound? Ouch. If you're lonely, get a dog, spend more time with family, do some volunteer work in your free time. Maybe even pick up a new hobby, like training for a marathon. That is the safe and secure way to go.