I want to date multiple women, but I don't want to hurt anyone. Is this possible?

I am interested in dating several women at once to learn more about what I want from a partner. I realize that the social norm here in the US is that of serial monogamy, or one monogamous relationship(dating or otherwise) after the next. I want to ultimately end up with one special woman who deserves me, but I want to take my time and weigh my options. I am relatively new to this frame of thinking in terms of dating, and I would like some pointers as to how to go about it in the most responsible manner. I am in a situation where I have different women who want to be with me, and new prospects pop up all the time. I am currently dating a woman that I really like who has a lot of girlfriend potential. Its been about 5 weeks since our first date & kiss, and things have progressed quite well. She lives about 3 hours away, and drove all the way to see me this last weekend. We had sex for the first time, and she told me she is beginning to fall for me. I told her that I really liked her too and that I was excited about the direction our relationship was headed, but there was no discussion about "official status" or exclusivity. I know she would be really upset if she found out about me dating other women but I don't consider myself exclusive with her, since we really haven't been dating long enough. I am interested in pursuing our relationship further to see what unfolds, and then make a decision to be exclusive. Meanwhile, I know I have options where I am, and I would like to pursue them as well. I am trying to be considerate of this woman, since the last thing I want to do is hurt her. Its weird, we aren't even in a relationship, but I feel like I would be betraying her trust in a way if she heard something about me with another woman. Should I be worried about her finding out and being hurt since we aren't exclusively together? Is it wrong for me to want to pursue different women at one