Is it normal to be anxious when you are on a date?

This is my first time dating I broke up from a long term relationship in September, every time I go on a date I feel very anxious and like I am crawling out of my skin, I am also prone to anxiety though. Is this my body's way of telling me this guy is not for me or do most people experience this? And if I did meet the right guy would the chemistry be so good that I would not be so anxious? I never experienced this sort of discomfort when I was with my ex I always felt very comfortable around him.

0|1
6|3

Most Helpful Girl

• I know what you mean.

Its a combination of excitement yet fear.

You are scared of whether or not this guy is right for you, how he will treat you, if you will like him or if he will like you, if he will ask you out on a second date, if you will be official, how long you guys will date, will you fall in love? What's going to happen? And a part of you isn't ready because giving yourself to someone else means admitting and realizing that the relationship that recently ended is officially over and you second guess yourself if you are doing the right thing.

The rest of you is excited for this new adventure, that he COULD be a wonderful guy and treat you right and that you could both hit it off and start a wonderful relationship.

Fear and excitement feel very similar, and t someone with an Anxiety disorder, like myself, they feel almost exactly the same.

0|2
    0|0
    • just reverse the gender pronouns and I feel the same way...and have anxiety disorder(s) as well, not surprisingly.

• Fear and excitement are indeed very similar, but with fear, I feel like my insides are shaking and I want to go home and hide from everything and everyone. If I'm out, I just want to go outside and get some fresh air and/or take a walk. WIth excitement, I get butterflies in my stomach and wanting to jump up and dance lol.

What Guys Said 3