Would you continue to date your significant other if your parents didn't approve?

My parents do not approve of me dating my boyfriend because he comes from a different family background as me (mom left the family when he was really young/divorced parents) and because he hasn't graduated from college yet and is only working a mediocre job full-time. They haven't met my boyfriend yet so they don't even know what kind of person he is but they are saying that he's not good enough because of the fact that he doesn't have a college degree yet. I should date someone of my education level with same prestige of my job (I'm a biology researcher at a University). My parents are afraid that if I marry the guy then he'll make less money than me (because guys are supposed to be making more money and be the one that's supporting the family according to my mom) and that they don't want me to be miserable because I wouldn't have a lot of money to spare. I told them that it's not about money at all. He makes me happy and we are compatible. She just says those reasons are very elementary and I need to really think about how important education is and what kind of credentials he has and can offer. And they are very adamant that the guy that I bring home has to be from a whole-some "christian" family. I don't necessarily agree with my parents on the aspect of same family background and christian...and if he had a college degree that's a plus but I'm sure that if we love each other we will be happy.

I deeply carea bout what my parents think and definitely want them to like my boyfriend. They are saying that it's OK for me to be friends with him but not date him.

What should I do? What would you do if your family told you that they didn't approve of you dating your significant other because he/she is of a different family background and doesn't have a college degree?

Updates: