Is it wrong for a graduate assistant to hang out with former students?

I teach at the area university as a Graduate assistant. While I don't seek them out, some former students of mine have since become friends. Some of my co-workers don't like this and see it as inappropriate. I see no problem with it as they've already received a grade. Now, it HAS gone as far as one of them liking me and some intense feelings having been developed, but they're no longer students. Am I crazy? Am I wrong? What do you think?

0|0
1|7

Most Helpful Girl

• I've been friends with tons of my profs and the TA's at my school. Now that I'm a grad student, possibly getting to teach soon, I'm not going to cut those relationships off. And my school actually encourages friendships between the faculty and students, saying that it promotes maturity, bonding, and gives a better university experience. I've learned a lot from them, just like they thought I would then.

As long as you're school is ok with it, why not? Perhaps the others don't like it because they weren't befriended by their students, or the students didn't accept them as easily as they did you.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 0

The only opinion from girls was selected the Most Helpful Opinion!

What Guys Said 7

• You have t worry about people trying to use you for a grade. It happens all the time as you must know, and hanging out all the time with them is a potential problem because people will think, wrongly or not, that they can hit on you and then hit you up for a grade.

And if you're not careful you'll have that reputation, whether you deserve it or not.

It's fine to be friendly, but I wouldn't hang out with them all the time. Once in a while, maybe, but as with any work position you have to really be careful of what people THINK about you as well as what you actually DO.