Dating etiquette

Ok so I have always been in relationships so I am new to the dating scene. I started dating a guy about a month ago and he would say things like he couldn't sleep because he wanted me cuddling with him, and would always say he was thinking about me, etc. Things were going great but then I found out a week ago he had kissed someone else and was talking to her too. I got upset about this and told him he could of at least been honest with me that he didn't want to see me anymore. Now, we never discussed exclusive so I guess it was my mistake for assuming we weren't dating others, but is this normal? In the dating world is it expected/normal to date multiple people? For me it would feel like cheating, so it would be hard for me to do, but like I said I am new to this so I need advise.

My friend told me he did like me and still wanted to date me but he had just gotten out of a 15 year relationship and wanted to just date and wasn't ready for a relationship. I wish I could go back and not get so upset, since I was the one who assumed we were exclusive, but sharing a guy just seems a little off to me. I guess my real question is, is it usual to date more than one person at a time when you are dating nowadays?

0|0
4|1

Most Helpful Girl

• My understanding is that until monogamy is explicitly brought into the picture, you are still technically single and you can date other people. It might be that because you're so used to relationships, you've forgotten what dating is for--figuring out if you want a relationship with the other person in the first place!