Falling for a Muslim guy, so confused, advice?

Right now I am dating a Muslim guy I met through a friend. He is so sweet, romantic, smart, and funny but I'm starting to wonder if this relationship is a good idea. He got 'mad' (like he doesn't freak out but he starts saying I don't love him and acting weird) about me going to the movies with a guy and the other day, I hung out with him nd his roommate and while he was talking to the guy I was texting, so later he took my cell phone and read all my messages which kind of bothered me but I didn't have anything to hide. So yea he's jealous/possesive of me but he always talks about living with me. Yet he said he is never going to tell his family about me. We went out together and he made me wait outside while he went into his work because he didn't want this Muslim guy he works with to tell his parents about me. And finally last night he asked me to study up on his religion (I know a fair amount because I studied it in school, but I think he wants to convert me.) I have really strong feelings for him, I love talking to him and being with him, I really feel happy with him but I am starting to see that I might be being naive. I don't want to leave him but I feel like I have no idea what I'm getting into, I'm getting nervous. Anyone have any advice for me?

0|0
5|7

Most Helpful Guy

• It seems he is already letting himself be candidly selfish, putting your individuality and freedoms second to his comfort. This is a red flag in any kind of relationship, personal or professional.

It doesn't sound like he respects you all that much, and with misogyny playing such a big role in the big religions, I can't see that changing much...