I recently ended a five-year relationship. How long should I wait to start dating?

This relationship was very serious, but I was admittedly a terrible girlfriend. He let me do whatever I wanted just as long as I didn't leave him. I cheated on him several times. He knew about every single one of them but never broke up with me. I initiated the breakup after years of shouldering guilt, and It was the best decision I've made for myself as an adult. I couldn't live with myself, and with him, after the things I'd done. I've had a lot of alone time to think about why I did what I did, and I NEVER want to do this to another person for the rest of my life. My actions were directly associated with my low self-esteem and the need for people to like me. So I find myself at the heart of my realization: I have no experience with dating. I know guys are interested in me, but it only ever seems to be a physical interest (which I'm guilty of as well). I find myself lonely at night, and sometimes feel the need for physical contact. I don't feel good about myself after one-night-stands, but it seems to be the only way to somewhat fill this void. I just don't know what to do. Should I date? Should I abstain? How long should I wait? I'm not sure I'm ready, but I wish I was.

0|0
3|2

Most Helpful Guy

• You said yourself that you're not sure you're ready. That is the key in this question. Who cares what other people have done. The time you start dating again should be when you are comfortable with it. Once you are comfortable with it again, you'll know because there will be no second thought in your head about whether or not you want to date. There is a huge transition between dating for a long time and being single, but don't let that loneliness be an excuse to rush yourself into a bad relationship. Wait until YOU are ready.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 1

• Maybe find a guy who's cool with having an open relationship. Cause I really don't think you can handle being monogamous

0|0