Would you respect a girl in this situation? Advice from guys especially would be of great help!

I have been talking to this guy that I have liked for many years now (about 8 years). We've had our ups and downs (way more downs than up -- he's hurt me a lot - cheated, lied, etc. etc.). I figured it's because our relationship was long distance/online and he came out to tell me the truth. However, we've decided to put our differences aside and try again - one final chance. He's been good to me for about 4 months now.. we decided that we were going to meet next may -- I'm going to go see him in person. However -- he wants to sleep with me. I'm all for it with the right guy at the right time.. BUT I don't feel like he is going to respect me if I sleep with him the first time I go to meet him (I'm going for only a week.. that's hardly enough time to get to know a person face to face). Would you guys respect a girl you've known for many years but not taken seriously who slept with you within a week of meeting her? Plus I am a virgin, and honestly proud of it. I've been in 3 serious relationships, and it was just never felt right (that's was the good choice since I'm not with those guys anymore for very good reasons). However, I can't let this one guy go.. I know I should, but I want to try one more time. I'm just not sure about this sleeping thing with him (he's obviously pushing for it.. and every time I say I might not want it at that time, he takes it as "you don't want to sleep with me?" and then gets hurt and upset). But guys.. would you respect a girl like me if I said 1 week was too short for sex on our first meeting? Is it wrong of me considering our long "online" history (even though he's proven to NOT be worthy)? Honestly, I want to be the girl he can take home to mom at the end of the day and not the kind of girl who he meets secretly (because neither of our folks know that we're going to meet) just to bang. I obviously can't talk to anyone in person about this,