Loneliness in a foreign country?

I'm studying abroad in Finland from the United States. So far, pretty much everything is on par with what I signed up for: Beautifully cold weather, live music everywhere that fits in with my metalness, and a great educational environment.

The one problem I'm having is that I feel like I'm not really "socializing" enough. I was in a huge dating slump back in the States, which is one of the reasons why I left the country in the first place. It doesn't help that most Finns tend to be quite reserved in conversation (and that I don't speak much Finnish, but the former is far more of a barrier).

Does anyone have any advice for me? Keep in mind that I plan on returning to Finland on a more permanent basis once I finish my last year of school back in the US.

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Girl

• You may already have found a "Best Answer", but I'd really like to help you too. I currently live in Denmark(and has all my life), which is pretty close to Finland + my great grandparents were Finnish or something like that. So, I may know a bit to how those people behave and such.