I refuse to date a woman with children. Is this mean or justified?

The past couple of days I have been ridiculed for rejecting a date with a beautiful woman since she has a kid. I'm looking for a lasting relationship, and for that to happen I feel that I would have to be a "father" to the child. At least in some degree. I don't want children at this point of my life.

I'm a new business owner and that requires time and effort. I don't see how I could have a proper courtship period with a mother. Being a parent requires even more time than a business. Rigorous planning would have to take place for me to date a mother. Therefore, spontaneity is dead.

I have had the opportunity to have children of my own. I knew that I wanted to have a business. That is why I didn't. If I wanted a child, I wouldn't have practiced safe sex to the extent that I did.( because and condoms before every time) Justified or mean?

0|0
10|13

Most Helpful Girl

• This is neither justified nor mean. It is your personal choice and considering dating and mating is all about our personal choices, this is fine.

I will say you are over-thinking this and I say this because you sound like me. I pre-conceive every possible problem that could come up in any scenario. I like planning and being aware of potential problems but I have also come to realize that I have narrowed my options because I was really convinced that something was more of a problem that it had to be.

So, you say you "don't see how I could have a proper courtship period with a mother." That is right, you don't see it, but doesn't mean it couldn't happen. I am a mother and I take 100% responsibility for my daughter, she has a great father who shares custody 50/50, so no man I ever dated nor my husband have any work involved in her care. I realize that not all single moms fall into that situation.