What to do about him!

I met a guy about a year ago, I've been seeing him the whole time since and I might say that I'm falling for him but there's a part of me that doesn't want to be in a relationship with him (I got issues). I want to stop seeing him because what we have is not healthy...it's stressing, it's emotionally hurting both of us, and everything is so uncertain.

He's asked me back in the beginning to be his girlfriend a couple of times. He's given up now, but we still date. I didn't agree to be his girlfriend because 1) he's 4 years older than me, 2) I feel it's unfair for me to be in a relationship if I'm not going to put time into it (I'm a college student), 3) he was taking it a bit fast (he's slowed down more).

I know I have feelings for him...plus I am extremely attracted to him. I love the way he is with me, how he brings out the positiveness out of me, makes me feel so safe, and when I'm with him it feels 'right'. But I'm in college, I need to focus in my education and most importantly enjoy the different experiences of college. I've never had a boyfriend before (I'm 20) not because I haven't had the chance but because I don't want to (again issues...).

We've talked, I know he loves me, but I told him about what's going on. He gave me two choices, 1) keep what we have (we go on dates, chat, be there for each other) with hopes of someday having a relationship or 2) we stop whatever we have, with no communication.

I don't want to do one because it's not fair for us to be in this middle stage...because in truth neither of us will see anyone. And what if one of us goes a separate way (starts dating another person)...we will blame one or the other. I also don't like the uncertainty.

I don't want to do 2 because he's important to me, I don't want anyone to leave my life or for me to walk away.