He is so confusing... What should I do?! Text or not to text

Thank-you for taking the time to read this! Answers would be so helpful... I am absoloutly miserable.How well I know him:So I have had a huge crush on this guy for a bit over a year. He's a senior and I'm a sophomore. Even when I didn't see him for three months over summer break I was unable to speak to any other guy. Now, me and this guy are friends. We weren't friends last year, but he would occasionally talk to me. A couple weeks ago he asked me for my number. We occasionally text, but it's mostly friendly stuff, maybe a little bit flirty at times. I have hung out with him before but only with other people. I interact with him every day in school.So I think he might like me because:-He hugs me 3 or 4 times a day. I basically can't be in the same room as him without getting a hug. Sometimes he picks me up off the ground when he hugs me and carries me around to somewhere. Or he'll just hold me for a while and sway back and forth. He hugs other girls but never picks them up or hugs them as much as me.-He has told me I'm cute before, or tells me "You look nice today." Once when I was having a bad day he told me I was beautiful-He always pokes my side/hip or sometimes pinches it...-He told me he loves hugging me and something is different when he hugs me-A couple days ago when he came up to me and hugged me, he kind of randomly said "(my name), I love you." -He's a little protective over me maybeHe's been to my house twice because he's friends with my brother and I've hung out with them. After he got home the second time he texted me saying that he had fun and that dinner was good etc.So he might either be interested in me, or just like me as a friend. Or he might think I'm cute but not want to date me... Now it's winter break and I really want to hang out with him but I don't want to bother him. I texted him a day ago and he randomly stopped replying. Then yesterday morning he texted me apologizing because