I like him, but I am confused - help?

So this guy has asked me to go places with his family a few times, and more recently he has asked me to "hang out" alone with him. He recently asked to go on our fourth "date", but he never calls them dates, just says something along the lines of "do you want to do something next week." However, one of our dates was on Valentine's Day and he did send me chocolates and a note saying I was "stunning". He is very shy and awkward (as I am myself haha) and he hasn't initiated any physical contact, but I have hugged him and held hands with him (as an excuse for helping him ice skate haha). But we just act very "friend-like" on the dates, so I always feel like he doesn't like me as more than friends, even though I'm pretty sure he does. Oh, and we also went to prom last year, so I guess that counts as another date. Any advice for my situation?

Updates:
And I have not had been in a relationship before or anything like that, so I have no experience with guys haha. We're both in college.

What's Your Opinion?

0/2000

What Girls Said 1

What Guys Said 2

• It kinda sounds like he's too shy to confess anything with words. That's probably why he's been trying to show you with his actions. I don't know any guys who would legit send a girl chocolates and call her "stunning" without being even slightly interested in her. And you said yourself that he's shy and awkward, which makes it even more obvious. I don't think he'd go out of his way to do something like that for someone he wouldn't consider special.