What should I do on my first date with this girl?

There is that one girl who likes me a lot and who thinks that I'm a good looking guy. She even asked my friend to hook me up with her. However, I'm a really shy person around girls I like, and I don't really know how to keep a conversation going.

The thing is that We hung out a few times but never really had long conversations which didn't give me the chance to know about her likes/dislikes.

I'm a foreign student here in the US and my English isn't that great which makes me more nervous.

Given the circumstances, where should I take her? What kind of conversations should I try to initiate? How long should a date be? And in case of long awkward silences, what should I do?

0|0
2|0

What Girls Said 2

• Location: Well, dinner and a movie is a go-to date for a reason. ;) Since you don't know her movie preferences, perhaps it's best if you just stick with dinner. You can pick out a neutral chain restaurant like Olive Garden or the Spaghetti Factory that tend to have a little bit of everything on the menu. Themed restaurants (such as Greek or Indian) are typically a bad idea unless you know ahead of time that the person likes the food.

Conversation: Get to know her! :) Since you don't really know that much about her, you can ask her things like "what do you do in your spare time", "what's your favorite movie", "when's your birthday", "what's your favorite band", etc. and try to create a conversation from there. Oh, and try not to ask her all these questions in succession! They are merely starting points. It's not an interview! Here's an example of a simple question leading to a good conversation:

You: "So, what do you do in your spare time?"

Her: "I like scuba diving, knitting, and fashion blogs."

You: "Oh, that's cool! What do you like most about scuba diving?"

Her: "I just love the view! And observing animals in their natural habitat. It's quite thrilling."