Is it normal for one to date more than one person at a time still in today's world?

I always thought it was considered "cheating" now. But I now have reason to believe that the guy I've been crushing on for the past several months has been openly dating more than one girl at a time. Do people still do this kind of thing? Just curious if I do have a chance maybe... of course I understand that it would be a slight chance if there is a chance, but still...

0|1
3|5

Most Helpful Guy

• If you're not dating him, then what's it to you? Second of all, nothing is wrong with dating a few girls in the get to know you stage if you don't know if your interested yet. It's not uncommon to meet some random girl at a mall, the grocery store, college library, coffee shop or whatever, think she's cute and get her number. If you're single and shopping for a relationship with girls outside of your normal circle (e.g. your office, college class, or people that live in your apartment building), then you really have no idea at all who these girls are. You set up causal dates for drinks or coffee that mean nothing and are just a chance to get to know them a little bit. Dating a few girls at a time if during that faze, exposes you to what's out there and increases the odds that you'll meet someone you sort of like and might be willing to go further with. It's not cheating until the two people involved have talked and agreed to be exclusive, but most people will drop the non contenders and focus on the one they like once they've actually determined they can stop looking for a bit and focus on this one girl who has real potential.

0|1
    0|0

What Guys Said 4

• If you have established a relationship and you have a title (Bf, Gf) and you date other people, then its cheating.

A crush on a guy is not a relationship, you have not asked him to be your boyfriend, vice versa.