IS this normal or am I doing something wrong?

I am 17 and he's 16.

I'm a social introvert, and I guess he isn't super extroverted but he seems like he gets with people better than I. Ie he's normal I am not really. I'm blunt, he implies sorta thing.

We've been dating almost a week I guess ( we were friends talking before that of course, known each other a year and half I guess but we were separated for a year and reunited and hit it off kinda fast now that I think about it and all.)

We kiss, cuddle, hangout on weekends, etc. We are very into the same things and well it all seemed to be flowing smoothly but he's sorta being weird, and I don't really understand it. He's my first boyfriend so I have no real understanding of the dating world I guess I just go with what has been feeling right, and its hard to convery emotion for me I guess, I guess I'm still learning what to do. What's weird is kissing came pretty natural for me, and it feels like he puts a lot into it I guess, and I try to match (sounds really lame to me) and he loves to cuddle me I think. It seemed like we had a big spark during last weekend when we first started dating I guess?

The thing is is a couple days ago, he invited me to his school band concert and well it was around his current and some of my old friends (I switched schools, I homeschool) . He chose to hold my hand the whole time, even if I stopped gripping or he'd stay beside me a lot, but yet he didn't look at me too much or he'd go off talking to his friends but its like I was just there beside him I guess?

He did not act PDA which I am glad for but what's weird is that he acts that way around strangers just not friends, but around family he'll kiss me and stuff

, just not around friends?

And when one of our mutual guy friends started talking to me, he held my hand tighter, put his leg against mine a bit more, and kept glancing at me. He also wouldn't let me get a word in edge wise with his cousin, who kept looking down at me.