I don't know how to turn guys down without being a bitch

Well, I'm not too experienced in dating... in high school I was the wallflower that was constantly rejected by guys, never asked out, etc. Then by the end of high school I met my ex and we were together for more than 6 years... now I'm 24, I've only ever been in one relationship and I'm still recovering from all the pain and such. As of now, I don't want to be with anyone... though not really because I met and liked a guy I met a while ago, but he lives a few hundred miles away so it's not possible to be together.

Life and its ways, though... now that I still don't feel ready to date, I've met many guys, and some are interested... they haven't been direct, but I can tell. They always invite me for drinks and such, and well, I usually tell them I'm not available because I know they might expect more and while I like them as friends, I also don't want to seem like a tease (I've been told I am naturally flirty, even though I'm coy). There's a fine balance which I haven't mastered... I either come off as too cold, or as interested... I don't know how to demonstrate that I appreciate a guy's friendship but that's it, you know?

I've been honest but most guys take that as playing hard to get...

So how do I do it? I don't want to be seen as a bitch either... I'm just not ready to date, and I also don't want to be all like "you know I'm not ready to date, I'm scared to death, carrying a lot of baggage from my last relationship, and it's not that I'm playing hard to get... but you're a very nice friend", you know?

0|1
4|8

Most Helpful Guy