What do you usually talk about on a first date?

So my friends have set me up on my first blind date. I know nothing about this guy and I'm not that good at small talk or really carrying out conversations. What things would you talk about on a first date?

0|0
3|10

Most Helpful Guy

• "Dating" kind of started to fall apart in the 70s, and it isn't even really taught at all anymore, and that's really unfortunate, because dating has a very pretty important part in developing a relationship. The purpose of dating is not just to get to know the other person on the surface ("What music do you listen to? What movies have you seen?" Etc.), but to get to know their personality/attitude, and also to make sure their values, morals, lifestyle, and goals are compatible with yours.

It's not necessary to learn all of that the very first date, but you should at the very least START those discussions on the first date. I'm pretty direct myself, but it still takes me something like 3-5 dates to really cover that ground thoroughly, and someone who is shy or not willing to ask direct questions or give direct answers may take longer.

You want to find out:

- are they fun?

- do they have a positive attitude?

- do they have a complimentary personality? (two "alphas" rarely work, for example)

- are you physically attracted?

And then start talking about things like:

- careers

- family (are they close? Do they have family commitments/obligations?, etc.)

- ambitions/aspirations/goals

- religion

- morals/values

- marriage (is marriage out of the question? heavily desired? On hold until 40?)

- children (do they want 10? Do they want 0? Do they want to adopt?)

- sex (attitudes, frequency, openness, rules/limits, etc.)

- lifestyles (a redneck and a sophisticated big-city person probably won't work)

- location (where do you plan to live? Are one of you moving soon? Do you have a job that keeps you from home a lot, or moves you around?)