Online dating has been a total bust. What about you?

I've been single for over a year now. I work so much and when I'm not working I'm studying and I just haven't been able to go out and meet new people. My friend told me to join OKcupid, so I did. Surprised by how nice and in-depth the actual site is. That being said I've gotten tons of messages like "Hey girl...lemme show you my d***" and then genuine messages from guys that I know we don't mesh well enough for things to work out, or I'm not attracted to them all that much.

I finally started talking to a decent seeming guy. Met him today and it was a total disaster =/. I couldn't wait to leave. It feels like I'm going to go another year totally single waiting for the right guy. I think part of my problem might be the bad selection of men in my city, but in any case, what have your experiences been with online dating? What about those of you who never seem to find enough hours in the day? How do you find relationships in that situation?

Updates:
Thank you for those of you that had actual helpful things to say instead of just judgement based on assumptions. I have a really good heart and I don't judge people or write them off unless there's a reason. And I really don't understand calling someone a "diva" when you actually don't know what their experience has been first hand. I'm really sorry that I didn't choose the guy who wrote me a decent message but had pictures up of him strangling his cat. Really. Thanks anyways.

0|0
2|9

Most Helpful Guy

• in all honesty, online dating is pretty much scrolling through pictures until you find a person you find attractive enough to talk to. it's kind of like online shopping because people just compare pictures when selecting who to talk to. girls definitely have it easier than guys though, it's pretty tough to get a girl interested when she has hundreds of guys sending her messages.