Most guys below 25 aren't mature in dating. Do you agree?

I'm starting to believe this statement. Let me tell you why. I've been single since September. I was in a long-term relationship before and I'm still looking for a serious relationship. I don't do casual relationships. Since my breakup, I've dated a few guys, I've had a few crushes and I've been surrounded by single men since I'm studying in engineering (80% male). It seems that the men in my surroundings all fit into the following categories:

a) With the same girl since a few years, whom he met before uni or outside of uni.

b) Has a girlfriend that no one has ever heard of

c) Player. Has a list of crazy exes and dates a new girl every week. Wants a booty call but nothing serious

d) Has a major crush on a friend who's not interested or on a girl that he knows nothing about. Has little to no dating experience and no guts with the ladies.

e) Has no crush, doesn't date and whines that girls never go for the nice guys or that none of the few girls around interest him or that there are no girls around. Doesn't do sh*t about it.

I've been my friend's shoulder to cry on for the past weeks. He fit into the d) category perfectly. He'd tell me stuff like that he had never felt so strongly about a girl before, that he knew he'd be heartbroken if she rejected him, that he had never been all over the place like that before, etc. He wouldn't take no for an answer although I let him know (too kindly, apparently) that she didn't reciprocate the feeling. Sure enough, things didn't end great.