Would or have you dated someone even if you often couldn't understand what they were saying?

I used to "talk" to a guy with a really thick country accent. Often I couldn't understand what he was saying and would ask him to repeat himself multiple times until I just kinda stopped and learned to read lips and listen for context cues lol. He was really cute and sweet though so I overlooked it. Would that be a dealbreaker for you?

0|0
2|2

Most Helpful Guy

• Nope. Maybe because I'm not very good at enunciating my words either, but I blame myself more than others when I cannot catch what they are saying. And then I try to bluff it up by repeating the gist of what I could manage to catch, which encourages them to repeat themselves again. ;) It's a great listening technique by the way , to bounce their own ideas back to themselves.

Coincidentally the 2 girls that I had ever had a crush on, often times I couldn't catch what they said. My first crush speaks in a very low pitch, and is reserved in words. My second crush also cannot enunciate very well either, but she is very talkative.

Whenever I meet them, for the first half hour conversation is awkward because we just met up and I can't catch what they said, and just doing my "bluff listening" technique. But after a while, I can hear them quite fine. I don't know if it's because our conversation got more animated (and thus louder), or because I got used to it.

Anyway, not a dealbreaker. If you manage to end up getting attracted to him AND persist despite his enunciation issues, obviously it is not a dealbreaker for you. Nor me either. I didn't even consider it an issue until I read your question and was reminded of it.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 1

• It would depend, in saying that i've never met many people I couldn't understand so long as they were speaking in English ...

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 2

• Sweetie, you are talking to the Number One "foreign fairy godmother" when it comes to "thick country accents.