Is liking emotionally unavailable men and rejecting available ones a sign of commitment phobia?

I am a graduate student with a very hectic and busy schedule.

I am also very tied to my religious culture so I only want to date guys from that background.

Whenever I do date by going to social events or online dating or whatever, I tend to push people away. I went out with this guy from online we had a lot in common and he was safe and nice. A little dull though. But I just felt this strong need to get away even though he wanted another date very badly.

Then yesterday while at a party I was a little tipsy and flirting with this guy. While tipsy it was fun but now that I gave him my number I just want him to go away and stop texting me! I don't think we had that much in common.

It's like I long for a boyfriend but I tend to push guys away.

Yet I love unavailable men. I have the biggest crush on my academic advisor who is only like 30 (I'm in my 20s) and as my advisor he is off limits but I am obsessed with him.

I also dated a total narcissist and I was so in love with him until I just felt so low and disrespected that I had to walk away for my own protection. He was so emotionally unavailable.

Why do I always fall for unavailable men?

And reject available ones?

Updates:
Another important thing to add... I have an emotionally abusive, emotionally unavailable father and I have major daddy issues even at this age.

0|0
0|1

What Guys Said 1

• It's because your own heart is surrounded by barriers. You crave closeness with another human being, being in the same spiritual realm with one another- considering him as a "Significant other". However, because of internal trauma, and fears in your own life, you tightly guard your own heart- with iron reinforced concrete blockades. And you are comfortable with it. So much so that when you feel the same barriers around a man's heart, it comforts you- because you personally know you will never have to open up to him.