Am I a bad Actor?

I've been acting since I was 6 years old. I've always been a drama kid- I've considered it as a career for a long time now. Thing is- I've always been told I was great. I always THOUGHT I was great.
Since 2010 I've had about 2 large roles in the 20+ plays I've auditioned for, and I'm starting to think I've been lied to. I know everything about blocking, speaking from my diaphragm, how to move on stage, putting emotion in my voice, I've learned and practiced this stuff my whole life.
But I feel like I should just stop getting my hopes up. After all, from a statistical standpoint I really don't seem that great. Im wondering if at this point I'm just seen in my community as an extra, or if I'm ever even considered for a large part. I'm told time and time again that my auditions were STUNNING, I've been told by a director friend of mine that the people watching were just blown away by my audition- only to see a cast list where I'm the ever so talented "Random girl #3". And I'm sick of it. If I really was great, I feel like I would have gotten some better roles.
And don't get me wrong, every small part I get I give it my all. But it's just discouraging. I've had my name misspelled on too many programs to count. I've done so much for my community and it's like the work I put into it means nothing compared to what the leads do. I'm invisible, and the only reason I can think of is because I'm just... Bad.
Acting has always been a passion of mine, but lately it's been causing more grief than joy. Am I just unlucky or is everyone lying to me when they say I'm great?

0|0
3|1

Most Helpful Girl

• I think your problem is overthinking. You're trying to be so perfect that you lose sight of what acting really is.

1|0
    0|0