What got you into your favorite type of music?

What type of music do you mostly listen to and what got you into it?

I'm mostly into rock and metal. My favorite band in grade school was Creed and I always liked the guitar riffs that Mark Tremonti wrote, so I started playing guitar. I would read interviews that he did with rock magazines and he talked about growing up on Metallica, Black Sabbath, and other heavier bands. It took me a while, but eventually, I started listening to them and I've been hooked ever since.

What got you into your favorite kind of music?

2|1
16|19

Most Helpful Girl

• My parents got me into stuff like Bryan Adams and Journey when I was younger and that led to me discovering other bands in that genre or heavier. I now listen to bands like Skid Row, Megadeth, Van Halen, Sex Pistols, Ramones and Bon Jovi. I also play guitar and through my guitar teacher, I get to listen to other rock/ metal bands.

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I listen nowadays mostly progressive metal. An older example of this would be Dream Theater, but modern progressive metal (often with lots of djent) is stuff like Animals As Leaders, Periphery, and ERRA.

Animals As Leaders -- Song of Solomon
    http://youtu.be/ihqT1aA4Q88
    Their stuff is insane. I would say that's not even one of their hardest ones either. Animals As Leaders tends to go into like a jazz metal hybrid thing, but I still label them as progressive metal/djent.

I really appreciate the technicality and musicianship of the progressive metal bands, and often times the lyrical content is similar-ish to that of metalcore (albeit less angsty teen and more raw emotions). A good example of that would be Luck As A Constant by Periphery:
    From 2:58 on is pure gold. It also has my favorite solo
    http://youtu.be/G8nM0LTxTOo

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 15