Learning acoustic?

I've been learning acoustic for a few weeks now and I was wondering if any of you had some useful advice. This is probably the hardest time I've had learning an instrument, woodwind instruments come pretty easily to me but this has been a sort of enigma.

0|0
1|3

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm learning to its so hard

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I have been a musician for around 40 years and have taught several how to play a guitar. The most difficult challenge you face at the beginning is getting your left hand to cooperate.

Here are a few things I did to overcome this.

You know how people roll their fingers on a table or on their leg when they are nervous? The most common way is by rolling from your little finger to your thumb. Try it in the opposite direction. It is not easy! Do it slowly at first and only increase speed as you can roll in the opposite direction comfortably.

Here is another: You are aware of how Spock spreads his fingers when he says, "Live long and prosper"... Do that with all your fingers, one at a time. Start with spreading your index finger out then back in. Then the Spock thing. Then your little finger. Then change directions. Do this on both hands, one hand at a time.