Why can't I make friends at church ?

I have been attending a church for about 5 years now. My mother found the church for my brothers and I because at the time we were beginning to become disillusioned with the church and Christianity. We began going to the church in high school and now myself and my brother are in college. I ended up liking the church and its youth group so much that I began inviting my friends from school (who no longer attend the church, I became a member and got baptized. I believed that it was amazing and refreshing to see young people so on fire for God. I also got involved with the children's ministry where I met a few adults. I began to however want to make friendships with people of my age group. Myself and a friend began to then attend classes with the young people at church only to find that most were extremely unfriendly. In order to get involved at church there is a sign up sheet, which an individual will call you to give you more information. Now we both wanted to be involved with the youth choir so we signed up and no one called us. As a result I went to the desk at church and asked about it. One of the ladies told us the exact day and time of rehearsals and we randomly showed up. When we finally got to church for rehearsal we were met with a mixed bag of "friendly people " and people who starred at us and gave us very rude looks. My friend and I left the rehearsal feeling slightly uncomfortable, but decided to give it another try. The next time we went to church we went around trying to remember names and being friendly with the people we had met. However, within an hour this all changed and we continued to feel lonely and isolated. After this we chose to leave the choir and my friend chose to leave the church. But I didn't want to give up so I chose to try to find a small group. Now for small groups I tried on various occasions to join in and they have been failures each time. I have seen people go to my church and get involved and