People see me as stuck up, not the brightest and a bit of a bimbo. I'm none of those things, how can I change that?

Recently the subject of "first impressions" came up with some friends and since I've only known them for about a year, two of them told me their first impression of me. It's a bit the same, they thought of me as a beautician, hairdresser, ... a bit stuck up, not the brightest girl in the class, etcetera.

Now I like to dress nice, wear make up moderately, I'm mostly quite elegant (e. g. I usually sit with a straight back and have my handbag near me, not that I sit like this: blotebenen.files.wordpress.com/.../etiquette.jpg) But I'm tired that people judge me on my looks. When the very few of them do make an effort to get to know me and ask me what I studied, the look of surprise comes across their face when I say I have a masters degree in criminology.
I don't want to dress different or stop wearing make up or change who I am, but I'm fed up with people seeing me as a bimbo or someone who only cares about looks or talks about shopping.

Any advice on this?

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Girl

• Well, if that's really you in your profile photo, I don't think you look stuck up, dumb, or a bimbo at all. You just look like a normal girl. I'm not sure why people would be getting those impressions of you but maybe it has more to do with how you act rather than your physical appearance. If you are somewhat quiet, reserved, and "proper" (like sitting straight up as you said), then perhaps they just assume those things.

I don't think you should change though. There's nothing wrong with those things, and you shouldn't have to change yourself for anyone. Like I said, I did not get that impression from simply looking at your photo so I'm sure not everyone thinks that upon first meeting you.

1|0
    0|0