When is it too late to start modeling?

I'm currently 14, going to be 15 in about a month and a half. I have had no experience whatsoever in modeling! I don't know how to get started. Well, it's not that I don't know how to get started, it's just that my PARENTS don't want me to be a model. They say academics come first and that modeling is bad, and all that crap. And I'm looking at Tyra Banks, Kate Upton and Kate Moss and they all started at around 14. I don't know how to convince my parents to let me model! When is it too late to start?

Updates:
And I'm hoping to be a renowned top model like Tyra Banks, not just a regular model that no one has heard of.

0|0
11|8

Most Helpful Guy

• Drive and Determination. If you really want to do it then you're going to have to neglect what your parents say. Don't let them destroy your dreams like what mine did.

0|0
    0|0
    • Awwww :( What happened? What did you want to do that your parents didn't want you to do?

• Show All
    • I suppose, I don't know how much help I can give you. There's a lot of resources online and on youtube. I've been using those to try to better myself. I found this audiobook called "100 Ways to Motivate Yourself" by Steve Chandler several years ago. If anything you should check that out. I've been going to seminars also.

• Yeah that would be a good idea :)

What Guys Said 7

• You're looking to be a Fashion model, which is where the big money and fame is found, but it's hypercompetitive and has high physical requirements that most people simply can't meet. Assuming you could, you'd need to start immediately, as the average fashion model's career happens between around 16-24 years old, and you still need some time to learn the trade. Sure, the ultra-rare super-model may be able to extend her career into her late 20s, but that's the exception to the rule.

Some good links to read:

teenadvice.about.com/.../modelinggirls.htm

http://www.fashion.net/howto/fashionmodel/