Sick of being stereotyped!

I'm 22 years old and a grad student in a journalism/communications program. I went to a really good school for my undergrad and I've already had some work published. I want to cover politics, or current affairs. My interests/job seem to cause problems with guys. I guess on the outside most people would say I'm a girly girl. I love pink and wear lots of it. I also wear pearl earrings a lot, ballet style flats, and lacy things. I'm outgoing, friendly and happy-go-lucky most of the time. When I tell guys I'm an aspiring journalist they either seem shocked or assume I'm planning to be an MTV host or entertainment reporter. As soon as I tell them I would never want to do either of those jobs and love politics, economics, etc. they automatically back off from me.

Why does this happen?

Most Helpful Guy

• Why would you care about a stereotype? I understand this completely. I am covered with tattoo's and I look like a biker, but I am in school right now working on a ph.d. in Anthropology and Poltical Sciences. It cracks me up when people judge me as a son of anarchy when it couldn't be further from the truth. I plan to use my appearance to my advantage. If both my arms covered with tattoo's help my future students learn something. Then it was money well spent.

My advice, is to use this perception to your advantage. If you look different, that's a good thing. would you prefer to look like everyone else?

You also have to ask yourself...Is journalism a fashion show? Can you order the latest in hot news lady fashion out of some magazine? Or is the information on which you are reporting the important part? The issue here is you want people to take you seriously when you don't look the role of serious. No matter what, you have to rememeber, your the one who gets the last laugh.