Never good enough?

I've a very driven, ambitious person. However, no matter what I do I still feel I'm just not good enough. I graduated from a really good university and now attend a good grad school. I'm studying to be a journalist and I've done everything I can to make it. Recently, I interned at one of the country's top-rated news shows. I also just got an article published on a popular news web site that is partnered with a famous newspaper. In uni, I was the president of the school debate team.

Still, sometimes I put myself down and I'm very critical of myself. I feel like I'm confident and happy on the outside, but the opposite on the inside.

I compare myself to people and feel inferior.

0|1
3|3

Most Helpful Girl

• I totally agree with Cartiphilus, who also commented here. Comparing yourself to other people will drive you nuts. You need to set your own goals, judge yourself based on what you know you are capable of, and forget about everyone else.

The problem with using other people to gauge your achievements is that you will end up noticing the best achievements from each individual, then feeling inferior. One person might have a great husband, someone else might have written a book, the next guy might be the youngest reporter to be hired at his newspaper. Each person has failures as well as successes. No one person has achieved all of the successes. This situation is similar to one that a girl in high school asked about a few days ago. As the only one without a boyfriend or a car or a job or whatever, she feels left behind by her friends. I told her that one person might have a car and someone else might have a boyfriend, and maybe someone who is lucky has both. I told her to set her own goals and not worry about anyone else.