How to get over anxiety of talking to random girls (ie: at libraries or coffee shops)?

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get over anxiety when approaching members of the opposite sex in which you have practically no common dominator? I find myself being able to take the first step of actually approaching the girl and getting her name, but I find that my anxiety is crippling me from showing my true self. At parties, or at the bar, its usually fine just cause there is this expectations that girls will be approached and I'm usually fairly spontaneous, but at libraries (I'm a student) or at coffee shops, I usually get the first sentence out and then afterwards, I feel my heart rate go up, my palms get sweaty, my mind becomes clouded and its hard for me to control what I want to say, or even think of something to say!

Does this anxiety get better over time/practice?

What Girls Said 2