What do you think of colorful hair, piercings, etc?

I have purple hair. I don't care if you think I'm "pathetic" or "stupid" or "childish" or believe I won't go anywhere in life. I'm 16, taking all honors courses this year, and had already started getting invites to colleges and prestigious schools by freshman year, and I wasn't in any clubs or activities to boost my chances. I want to start a career in writing or photography, and I've been a straight A+ student since 6th grade, so it's pretty obvious that I'm not some immature wannabe who isn't going anywhere in life, so don't even start that type of argument. I want to see how much of an affect certain differences have on people's image of others. If you did not know any of the things previously stated about me and saw me walking down the street with bright purple hair, a lip ring, dark eyeliner, and black clothing on, what would be your first thought? Now if you knew all of the previous facts about me, but I looked the same? Would you believe the previous facts more if I were hair dye and piercing free? Or would your opinion remain the same from the beginning?

0|0
8|3

Most Helpful Guy

• Hey, your body - your life. You just have to know that if you dress provocatively, people will make snap judgments about you, and they may not be the judgment you want them to make.

You already know both the saying "don't judge a book by its cover" and that it is bullshit, because people usually do.

0|0
    0|0
    • Except that this isn't what I want to hear. I get that people are like that. As you can see, it's obvious that I don't care how I'm viewed, all of my clothing comes from thrift stores and the walmart men's section for Christ sake. I want to see how people view others before background info, after background info, and if it affect their views even after learning their backgrounds. I already knew what you said in this comment.