Is it a good idea to dye my hair at home after having it bleached professionally?

I really want to dye my hair pastel purple before Christmas, but i'm not exactly rich. I was thinking that maybe it would be cheaper to just go to the salon for a bleach job, and then dye it purple at home instead to cut back on the cost. is this a good idea? my hair is dark brown for those wondering so I definitely need to bleach it for the colour I'm going for.

also, does anyone know any good permanent/semi-permanent hair dye in crazy colours that won't wash out fast? or do I need to go to a salon for that, too? this is my first time dying my hair an unnatural colour that's lighter than my own so if anyone could give some advice about which shampoo to use, how to style coloured hair, it would be very appreciated. thanks!

0|0
4|1

Most Helpful Girl

• Crazy colors tend to wash out pretty quickly it's just the nature of them. Manic panic and directions are the dyes I've used. If you want it to last longer youd be best to go for a darker shade and have it fade to the pastel

1|0
    0|0
    • 1mo

Also few tips to make it last longer, when you shower wear a shower cap and wash your hair last with cold water it's horrible at first but you get use to it l. Also if you're using heat use a lot of heat protection spray

• 1mo

thanks for the info! it's appreciated <3

one more question, does the colour stay longer and better if you have straight/thin hair? my hair is really thick and wavy so I'm worried that it won't work properly or stay and i'll have to keep dyeing it every few days, lol.

• 1mo