Fashion tips for socially awkward nerd?

So I am currently a graduate student. I am a socially awkward, shy nerd, but I want to dress more fashionably so I can be more attractive to girls (I know I have to get over the shyness also).

I usually wear t-shirts, polo shirts (including a couple Lacoste long-sleeve polos), jeans, hoodies, sweatshirts, and Nike shoes. Would I seem like a tool if I started wearing clothes from Banana republic, abercrombie, hollister, brooks brothers, etc?

0|0
7|3

Most Helpful Girl

• I think you can sure get more fashionable without losing the core essence of what defines you. Geeky is in, and you might want to add the intelligent elements of nerdiness to your look! Add a touch of class and lose the hoodies/sweatshirts for sure. Keep it layered with a light blazer / cardigan instead, with sleeves rolled up. If you do want to wear a sweater opt for those geeky argyle ones. Try on a pair of stylish thick-framed glasses (zero power if your eyes are okay!). It's okay to go with sports shoes, but try out smarter ones, like ankle-length versions for example.

Of course the most important thing is to be comfortable and have loads of fun while trying your new look. If you feel great about yourself, it shows!

- Fashion blogger at Myntra.com

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 6

• Try getting stuff you feel comfortable in. Try googling different actors or something and see which styles you like and try to copy the outfits in your own way so you give it a unique twist :)

1|1
    0|0
    • Good advice, and if I could just add to this one- look for actors of similar body type. Certain styles of clothing go better with certain body types. (If you're a big guy, you don't want to be dressing like Daniel-day Lewis, he's super thin and tallish so he will tend to wear cloths that 'fills him out' so to speak. Bad style for heavy or short people.)