Is it probably because I'm ugly/plain looking?

I am a college student and have not made one friend. I don't have any friends, and the friends that I've had in high school, I've lost connection with. I don't talk to anybody during my classes...and everyday feels very monotonous. After my classes end, I go to the library and study, then go home (I'm a commuter student).

(No sugar coating, please).

Usually, if one has no friends, does it usually happen because of an unattractive physical appearance? DO pretty girls get approached a lot by people in lecture classes? What about the whole theory about pretty people being perceived as unapproachable?

Do appearances play a large part in determining the number of aquaintances/friends?

Most Helpful Guy

• Well there's really no way to tell how attractive you are without a picture... but it really isn't that hard to at least make an acquaintance in your class. Especially when the professor asks to get in groups, you just sort of introduce yourself and talk about the subject, then from there who knows you could find your best friend. I'm sort of quiet, laid back, not the first to approach someone kind of guy, and I've at least met some nice cool people who I can talk to.

Just have a friendly attitude and don't be afraid to talk, you have a lot more in common with people than you probably think.

What Guys Said 3

• You don't make friends in big classes. All the people around you acting buddy-buddy already knew each other from something else.

You should be able to look in a mirror and be honest with yourself about your looks. You know what ugly is.

You will make friends, no matter your looks, if you join a social group. Be it a church group, rec sports, club, or sorority.

Personally, I joined the sailing club, and I made so many friends immediately. Most colleges have like hundreds of clubs.