Why is the idea that having tattoos and/or piercings means you won't get a good job still widely believed?

i have piercings in my nose, lip, ears, and bellybutton and tattoos on my foot, wrist, and neck (they are all semi-visible depending on what kind of shoes I'm wearing, where my hair falls, etc). right now I have a good job at a great company making $45k a year and am in line for a promotion that would take my salary to $60k. none of my coworkers or superiors or even clients care about my tattoos and piercings, and I'm definitely not the only person in my company with them. I wouldn't say they're common, like it's not a majority that has them, but they're certainly not uncommon. my degree is in law and I work as a law assistant for a well known American tech company.

a lot of my friends have a similar amount of facial piercings and/or tattoos. they're all in my age range, 22-25, and have degrees in varying fields: anthropology, history, business, accounting, physical therapy...and all of them are making somewhere between $40k and $75k a year.

why is there still this belief that having tats or facial piercings means you can't do better than a minimum wage job?

0|0
3|1

Most Helpful Guy