Dealing with professors...

So from what I see a lot of the users on GAG are around the age's of 20-30.

So my question to you all in college or graduated is when you entered a brand new class, did you do well on the first test? How did you go about finding what the professors wanted you to study and not study?

I've been dealing with a lot of trouble and so far its caused me two bad test grades in the same class and similar results in the other 3 classes I'm taking. I'm studying every night reading the book and trying to look at their powerpoint to narrow down what I should be looking at but it did not help.

(P.S.- in the class with two bad test grades I recently found out the class average for the test was a 58, and he had to lower the grading scale so that a 42 was a D)

Any advice on this is welcomed.

Updates:
So thanks for the responses I'll definantly take everything into consideration, I have talked to one of my professors about how to study and we will see what happens by the next test. But for the one I just received a bad grade in for the second time, he has a horrible rating on ratemyprofessors.com.

So I have a new profesor to teach the second half of the course and I will try to ask him early what is the best way to study for HIS test.

thanks

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Girl

• I would definitely say talk to your professors either by going to see them in office hours or by e-mailing them, and tell them that you're really struggling and ask them how they think you should study. In a lot of classes I've taken, going to office hours for extra help not only 1. helps but 2. gives you a little grade boost because it shows that you're trying really hard.

Also try to think of what the issue is- have you noticed that most of the questions on the exams come from the homework assignments, the textbook, the powerpoint, the recitation material, etc. and compare that to what you spend the majority of your time studying.