Have to look after a baby for 2 hours tomorrow by myself. advice?

This is my first time ever doing so. My parents which are th childs grandparents, were supposed to look after him, but they had a prior engagement they could not get out of and for 2 hours I'm left alone to look after him.

So yeah I've never done this before, so, what's some general advice you can give me?

I've never changed a baby's diaper before, so if it ever came to that I'm not sure what to do. Could I just wait until my parents come home and deal with it, or would that be a bad idea?

the baby is 2 months old
Well it went pretty well. he cried quite a bit at first, but then I just put a blanket on him and he fell asleep for one hour, then he got fussy again and cried loudly, but all he need then was his bottle.

I didn't even have to change him. so all in all, not bad at all. thanks guys

Most Helpful Girl

• Babies are pretty easy. :) You'll be just fine for 2 hours.

When you get there, the parents should tell you the last time he ate, slept, and was changed. They'll tell you whether you have to feed him or not. If you do, they'll give you directions on how to prepare a bottle.

Changing a diaper is super easy. It's fairly doubtful you'll get a stinky diaper in a 2 hour span, but you'll likely get one or two pee diapers. Just feel the front of the diaper for any feeling of fullness to check for pee.

Here's how I like to change babies. I put the baby on the changing table (or just a flat surface like the floor, if they don't have one). Then I get a new diaper and slide it underneath the baby's bottom, lifting him by his ankles. Then I take the baby's dirty diaper off and wipe the area with a baby wipe. I throw away the dirty diaper and the baby wipe. Then I just fasten the new diaper, which was already half on at that point. And since he's a baby boy, beware he might spray a little!