How long can Chlamydia stay in remission before showing symptoms?

ONLY looking for a response from a Doctor or some that knows the answer. I researched online and found multiple answers, so please don't just look it up online and put the first thing you see! It's important for me because I want to know if I was cheated on or not.

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm a nurse, so I'm going to assume I'm okay to answer you.

So, chlamydia will usually show up between one and three weeks after exposure- IF there are any symptoms at all. Many times (some say MOST of the time) there are no symptoms, so people don't even know they have it. If it goes untreated it can lead to Pelvic Inflammatory Disease, which can mess with fertility.

Anyway, you're trying to figure out if you got cheated on, right? Okay, here's the thing: she could have gotten chlamydia a long-ass time ago (maybe even years ago) and not known it- because many/most case are asymptomatic. So if she just went to the gyno the other day and tested positive for it through routine tests that are run anyway, then there was no way of knowing when she got it or how long she has had it. BUT if she started showing symptoms recently then I would say that her exposure happened one to three weeks ago. Do you see what I mean? If she's asymptomatic then there's no way of knowing when she got it. If she IS showing symptoms, then she was exposed recently. Chlamydia isn't like herpes where you can have it for a long time and then have an outbreak and then it goes dormant again for a while. Chlamydia is a bacteria- it's either active (but possibly silent) or it's not there.

I hope I'm explaining this right, I don't want to get anyone "in trouble". The good news is that Chlamydia is easily fixed- antibiotics will kill it and then you're good. Probably azithromycin, or erythromycin- those are the ones I have seen prescribed. They work on all kinds of infections.

So, good luck.