Boyfriend said a tattoo would "ruin" my body and generally doesn't like the idea of me getting one?

I've wanted a tattoo ever since I could remember. I am an artist, and I appreciate the art of tattooing a lot. I planned on getting something medium sized on my calf, so nothing extreme. Unfortunately, my boyfriend of 2 years doesn't feel the same way. He used to say that it would "ruin my perfect body, just cover my skin up, and would do nothing for me physically." He's gotten better with it, and he supports the idea now since he knows how much I want one, but it's so annoying and stressful because I feel like I can't something no matter how much I like a certain design or size if he doesn't approve of it, and he has yet to really be too excited about anything I've showed him.

I'm not willing to break up with him over this or anything, but I REALLY want a tattoo and I also REALLY want my boyfriend to love every part of my body, tattoo or not. I just don't know what to do.

0|0
2|6

Most Helpful Guy

• He still hates the idea of you getting a tattoo, and thinks they are all ugly. That said, it is your body, and he knows he has to support your decision. That doesn't mean he has to like it, and it is his right not to like something. I don't get way people are acting like he is bossing you around, just because he isn't pretending to like the idea.

These are your options.

Get a tattoo and risk forever lower your beauty in his eyes, and force him to lie about how he feels, to avoid fights about it.

Don't get one, and run the risk of holding it against him.

Break up with him and find a more compatible guy.

Do whatever you want, but don't blame him, for any choice you make. He isn't controlling you, he is simply making his preference known. Also remember, relationships are a two way street. Just like you can do what he doesn't like, he is free to do what you don't like.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5