Does he still care about me? what should I do?

OK I've officially decided sex makes everything so much more complicated haha. this guy and I had been talking for about three months and he was honestly the sweetest nicest guy who really treated me right. we acted like boyfriend/girlfriend and I was the only girl in his life he was "talking" to. In the beginning he liked me, but I just wanted to be friends. then it became the opposite but I knew he still had feelings for me and still cared about me. my dad died this past summer and he would go above and beyond to help me with my grief. When I told him I liked him (drunk text haha) he said he liked me too he just didn't wanna date anyone right now just got out of a relationship so I thought hmm maybe we could be friends with benefits and at that point he agreed. the next night he invited me to sleep over (we always slept over at each others houses) and I expected us to hookup. we got into bed both tipsy he started to make a move and then backed a way and said he couldn't do that to me, he cared to much about me respected me too much and felt like it wouldn't do good things for our relationship. I got p*ssed and asked him why he cared so much I didn't understand it and if he cared why didn't he want me to be his girlfriend blah blah blah. but the next day I texted him to tell him I still wanted to be friends like we were for such a long time and he said of course I know that...then I started to ignore him the next week and after 6 days texted him mid afternoon. he called me at 330 that morning and was like "I'm so sorry I didn't text you back I completely forgot and I was eating" and then we talked for an hour this was the first time we really talked since the incident. then Monday my friend was texting him and he invited us over. I ignored him while everyone was around (there were 10 people at his house) but once they left it was me my friend and him and he invited me to stay over again and I accepted. we ended up hav