What is the right age to get married?

I'm a freshman in college, and my boyfriend is a senior in high school. Don't freak out, we don't want to get married yet. But we've been dating for over a year, and we're very serious and love each other so much. We originally thought that once we both get our undergraduate degrees, we could get married. However, would it be bad to get married earlier than that? So is age a big deal when getting married or is waiting just to be older pointless?

0|0
2|6

Most Helpful Guy

• Once you are both out of college and living a more 'normal' day-to-day life where you can see how you really will be like for the rest of your life. You will want to live together for a year or so first, it is amazing how many people you can get along with just perfectly but find you simply cannot handle living together.

Those college years aren't really indicative of 'real' life. They are fun years, with only a small taste of real full-blown responsibility. If you two are perfect together, and are committed to a full life together, then waiting until you both graduate school and live together for a bit after that to get married shouldn't be a big deal. If you are meant to be together, nothing will happen that will cause you to break it off. If you find out in 3 years that you really aren't growing in the same direction, much better to find out during an extended relationship than after you are married.

If your love is so strong that it can handle anything, it can handle waiting. If it isn't strong enough, if you feel you have to do it now or else, then that's a sign that your marriage would be shaky from the beginning and it would be better to not rush into it.