I told my friend I don't support gay marriage and she flipped?

I'm a college student majoring in economics. All of my economics professors always say gay marriage will be the downfall of the economy. Since the Supreme Court ruled in favor of gay mariage, it has bad side effects. Many small businesses will be forced to close due increased taxes they will have to pay. Major companies will use it as an excuse to lay off thousands of workers and pass it off as budget cuts.

Personally I don't care if you're gay. I don't get why for and against gay marriage people have to bash each other. There are both pros and cons to thr argument . My friend was saying how great the news of gay marriage was and I told her I'm against it for the reasons I stated above. Her father, who is an economist (also the reason why I'm an Econ major) agreed with me and my friend flipped out at us. She called me and me and her father horrible people. Can we talk to her about the subject?

0|0
16|32

Most Helpful Guy

• While her reaction was overkill, it really isn't surprising. Unfortunately people have an "If you aren't with me, you are against me" attitude about gay marriage. I don't care about gay marriage one way or the other, and also get a lot of hate for just not caring, but having it legal won't do anything one way or another.

I think your professors don't know what they are talking about. Gays wouldn't put any more strain on the system than straight people already are. In fact single parents are a far bigger draw on the governments resources than gay couples will ever be.

If it was bad for our economy the announcement of it being being legal would have destroyed our stock market as soon as the news hit. At this point marriage really doesn't give any benefits that you can't get from some other means. Even the government will provide health insurance if you don't make enough, so you don't even need to be on your partners health insurance anymore.