Is it Wrong to Want to Get Married Now?

I mean, screw all of this stupid Sexual Revolution stuff of waiting until I am in my 30s, financially stable, and all that junk. My desire is entirely irrational, but life itself is irrational. Marriage is what would make me happy and I think that life is too short to do anything less. Yes I am still a student living with my parents, but I also work and consider myself pretty mature being the oldest child. I learned a lot about children and family life from taking care of my younger siblings and observing my parents' own marriage, which occurred right after high school when they were about my age. This was in 1998.

More than anything at all, I want to be able to devote myself to someone completely. I need that feeling of making a total, selfless sacrifice. Maybe it is some Freudian tendency rooted in my status as the oldest child, but I feel like unless I am taking care of someone and/or emptying myself, that my life has no purpose or meaning. I want to get married so that I can take care of my wife, devote myself to her, and have someone in my life I can love and cherish. I am like Dean Winchester. I NEED to sacrifice myself for someone else. The paternal instinct is ridiculous inside of me.

That said, is it wrong to want to get married right now? I don't feel like I can wait much longer. I don't care if we have to live with our parents until graduation. Religiously it is less shameful to me than shacking up unmarried. I don't care if people laugh at me and I have to sacrifice my youth. It just seems vain and meaningless anyway. I would find true meaning in being a husband and fatherhood.

What should I do? How should I resolve these feelings? Are they normal for men my age? Particularly firstborns like myself?

0|0
10|13

Most Helpful Girl