Proposal coming or reading too much into it?

For about four weeks now my boyfriend has been doing a few things that aren't that curious by themselves but when placed together, especially with what he did this weekend, have me wondering whether I'm just getting my hopes up or if I'm right and he has no idea what the word subtle means.

It started around four weeks ago when he asked me why I never wear any rings. I didn't lie, I told him they get caught on filing cabinets at work and it hurts like heck and that my boss slays wants the cold air on so they get loose on my fingers and I'm afraid to lose them. All of this is true. He requested I wear one next time I saw him and of course just to see his reason I did but he never said anything about it. The week after that he said he didn't know anything other than what my street and house number were and asked for my full mailing address (like if he wanted to mail something) as well as my home phone number cause I am a college student still staying at home. The address thing isn't weird but he knows I'm never at home because of personal reasons irrelevant to this. I gave them him though. Afterall, he could want to surprise me with something since he just moved out of state and we see each other only on weekends when I drive down to see him (it's only 5 hours away). Then last Monday we were talking like we do every night and he made a comment that caught me off guard. He said he didn't really know my dad that well and he wants to talk to him. That sort of got me wondering if things were beginning to add up but I just went on ignoring it. When I went to see him over the weekend he asked me, after deciding he wanted to take me shopping, what type of necklaces I like and seeing as he bought me a locket for Valentine's Day two months ago I found that very odd. At the mall he told me we weren't leaving until had at least one necklace, bracelet, and ring idea. I looked at necklaces and bracelets and gave him his ideas but inste